Skip to main content

Graduate Medical Education Committee

The composition and function of the Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC) are specified by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) within the Institutional Requirements (IRs), which correspond to the specialty Program Requirements. Learn more below.

 GMEC Composition and Meetings

The IRs specify the following composition and meeting frequency of the GMEC.

The GMEC has the responsibility for monitoring and advising on all aspects of residency education. Voting membership on the committee must include:

  • Residents nominated by their peers manifest by the leadership of the McGaw Residents and Fellows Forum (MRFF) and Northwestern McGaw Underrepresented Residents and Fellows Forum (NMURFF) housestaff organization
  • Residency program directors of the five core residencies (Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Psychiatry and Surgery)
  • Program directors of at least four non-core program directors from a variety of other residencies and fellowships (including ACGME accredited and non-standard) serving three-year terms
  • Administrators from the largest McGaw base hospitals (Northwestern Memorial Hospital/ Prentice Women’s Hospital, Shirley Ryan Ability Lab, Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago)
  • The accountable Designated Institutional Official (DIO)

The committee may include other members of the faculty.

Our committee meets 12 times per year.

 McGaw GMEC Responsibilities

  1. Oversight of:
    • ACGME accreditation status of the Sponsoring Institution and each of its ACGME-accredited programs;
    • Quality of the GME learning and working environment within the Sponsoring Institution, each of its ACGME-accredited programs, and its participating sites;
    • Quality of educational experiences in each ACGME accredited program that lead to measurable achievement of educational outcomes as identified in the ACGME common and specialty/subspecialty-specific program requirements;
    • ACGME-accredited program(s)’ annual evaluation and improvement activities; and
    • All processes related to reductions and closures of individual ACGME-accredited programs, major participating sites, and the Sponsoring Institution.
  2. Review and approval of:
    • Institutional GME policies and procedures;
    • Annual recommendations to the Sponsoring Institution’s administration regarding resident/fellow stipends and benefits;
    • Applications for ACGME accreditation of new programs;
    • Requests for permanent changes in resident and fellow complement;
    • Major changes in each of its ACGME-accredited programs’ structure or duration of education;
    • Additions and deletions of each of its ACGME-accredited programs’ participating sites;
    • Appointment of new program directors;
    • Progress reports requested by a Review Committee;
    • Responses to Clinical Learning Environment Review (CLER) reports;
    • Requests for exceptions to work hour requirements;
    • Voluntary withdrawal of ACGME program accreditation;
    • Requests for appeal of an adverse action by a Review Committee; and
    • Appeal presentations to an ACGME Appeals Panel.
  3. The GMEC must demonstrate effective oversight of the Sponsoring Institution’s accreditation through an Annual Institutional Review (AIR):
    • The GMEC must identify institutional performance indicators for the AIR, which include:
      • Results of the most recent institutional self-study visit;
      • Results of ACGME surveys of residents/fellows and core faculty members; and
      • Notification of each of its ACGME-accredited programs’ accreditation statuses and self-study visits.
    • The AIR must include monitoring procedures for action plans resulting from the review.
    • The DIO must submit a written annual executive summary of the AIR to the Governing Body.
  4. The GMEC must demonstrate effective oversight of underperforming program(s) through a Special Review process.
    • The Special Review process must include a protocol that:
      • Establishes criteria for identifying underperformance; and
      • Results in a report that describes the quality improvement goals, the corrective actions, and the process for GMEC monitoring of outcomes.

 GMEC Meeting Dates

The Graduate Medical Education Committee meetings are held from 8:00 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. in the Rubloff Building, 420 East Superior Street, 12th Floor, Suker Conference Room.

  • December 11, 2020
  • January 8, 2021
  • February 12, 2021
  • March 12, 2021
  • April 9, 2021
  • May 14, 2021
  • June 11, 2021
  • July 9, 2021
  • August 13, 2021
  • September 10, 2021
  • October 8, 2021
  • November 12, 2021
  • December 10, 2021

Please Note

  • The agenda for the Graduate Medical Education Committee meeting closes 10 days prior to the meeting date.
  • All documents pending GMEC consideration are due one week ahead of the meeting for which the review is scheduled.

 GMEC Members

2020-21 Committee Members

Joshua Goldstein, MD, DIO and Chair
Christopher Derrick, MD
John Bailitz, MD
Joan Anzia, MD
Matthew Beal, MD
Andrea Birnbaum, MD
Meredith Bone, MD* and Wellness Subcommittee Chair
Christine Bonomo 
Aashish Didwania, MD
Abra Fant, MD, QI and Patient Safety Officer
Susan Gerber, MD
Stephanie Kielb, MD
Stephanie Pelligra
Dmitry Pyatetsky, MD
James Schroeder, Jr., MD
Clara Schroedl, MD
James Sliwa, DO, QI and Patient Safety Officer
Deborah Smith Clements, MD
Linda Suleiman, MD, Director of Diversity and Inclusion
Sharon Unti, MD
Santina Wheat, MD,MPH

2020-2021 Program Coordinator Representatives

Sean Jones
Brittany Dixon

2020-2021 McGaw Housestaff Association

Matt Maksimoski, MD
Matt Snyder, MD
Amishi Bajaj, MD
Katy Altonji, MD
Jeremy Lai, MD, MBA

2020-2021 Northwestern McGaw Underrepresented Resident and Fellow Forum (NMURFF) 

Adesuwa Akhetuamhen, MD
Koryalys Edwards, MD
Kristina Warner, MD
Etoroabasi Ekpe, MD
Carla Villarreal, MD

Ex Oficio Non voting

Mary McBride, MD, Faculty Development Director Feinberg School of Medicine

McGaw Wellness Subcommittee 

Meredith Bone,MD (Chair) - GMEC
Joshua Goldstein, MD (DIO)- GMEC
Joan Anzia, MD - GMEC
Aashish Didwania, MD - GMEC
Deborah Smith Clements, MD - GMEC
Chloe Renshaw, MD – Housestaff Wellness Subcommittee
Lauren Woo, MD – Housestaff Wellness Subcommittee
Claire Harrington, MD – Housestaff Wellness Subcommittee

Follow McGaw on